i’ve been nominated for the liebster award!

liebster award

I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award by Jamie over at Rise with Jamie, a lovely blog about self-love and self-empowerment. I recently discovered Jamie’s blog and am inspired by her authenticity so I am very touched she thought to nominate me. What an honor!

The rules of the award:
1. Link back to the person that nominated you
2. Answer the questions asked by the nominator
3. Nominate 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers
4. Create 11 questions/prompts for your nominees
5. Notify all nominees on their blogs and/or social media

Answers to my questions:

Why did you start your blog? In 2013 I started Milagros Moments in response to an increased perception that student affairs (SA) professionals do not live well. I kept hearing that SA pros were advising students to take care of themselves without modeling the way.  Milagros Moments is a way for me to keep myself accountable throughout my journey to wellness as well as engage with others doing the same, regardless of their profession.  What started out as a creative outlet has turned into an incredible opportunity to build a community.

What do you feel is your life purpose? Wowza!  That’s a doozie… Providing a sense of belonging for others is at the core of all my passions and gives me a great sense of purpose.  I want everyone to know their personal strengths are valued and that they contribute to the greater community.  I would argue this is what attracted me to a career in student affairs.

purpose | milagrosmoments.wordpress.com

What lights you up?  I am energized by people that live authentically and are comfortable in their own skin.  I enjoy surrounding myself with goofy, quirky people that aren’t afraid to laugh at themselves.

What is your favorite quote? “Let us stand by what is good and make it better if we can.” -Atticus Haygood.  Shoutout to the Emory U. alumni that know the history behind that quote.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?  Tons of places.  Recently Adam and I have been dreaming about Thailand.  I reaaaally want to spend a day at this elephant sanctuary!

If you could share a message that would reach everyone in the world, what would it be? See “what do you feel is your life purpose” : )

What is the best word that describes you? Passionate.

What fear do you want to overcome? Fear of not being enough.  I am constantly putting pressure on myself to improve “me” and my work.  It’s exhausting!  Melissa, my wedding photographer, introduced me to the phrase I am enough and I’ve been using it as a personal mantra ever since.

you are enough | milagrosmoments.wordpress.com

What creates a fulfilling life? I used to think living a balanced life creates a fulfilling life.  I recently blogged about how living a fulfilling life goes beyond balance.  It is about fully developing your character and abilities.  Bonus answer: another big fear of mine is not living a fulfilling life.

Describe your happy place. Somewhere with laughter, good conversation, and dancing.  Lots of dancing. And chocolate chip cookies.  Did I just describe my job?

My nominees, who I follow regularly, are listed below.  Each have a unique outlook on wellbeing and self-care.  You should check them out!!

  • Sustainable in the South // Jane
    Reflections on her eco-journey & passion for sustainability initiatives
  • Professionally Queer // Alex
    Discussions (& ramblings!) on social justice, multiculturalism, & various identities
  • RPD Blog // Renee
    Wellness advocate with special interests in curriculum design
  • #SAPro Cooks // Michael
    Cooking made easy for student affairs professionals (& everyone, really!)
  • Chandler T // Chandler
    Personal and professional experiences as a student affairs professional
  • The Inspire(d) Cafe // Dija
    Anything and everything that inspires this sassy mama
  • Rambling Man // Derek
    SA pro with a passion for student organizations & leadership initiatives
  • Project Unfluff // Mariana
    Body appreciation advocate documenting her fitness journey
  • Jack’s Journey to Joy // Jack
    Discoveries of a higher ed professional hoping to make change
  • Hopefully Helpful // Hope
    Makeup artist, beauty blogger, & advocate for young professionals

Your questions/prompts:
Why did you start your blog?
What do you feel is your life purpose?
What is your favorite quote?
What are you grateful for?
What is the best word to describe you?
Thank someone.
What fear do you want to overcome?
What is your greatest accomplishment?
What creates a fulfilling life?
What inspires you?
Describe your ideal self-care day.

Thanks again for this award – I’m excited to learn more about my nominees through their answers!

xo vm

// read more about me

3 thoughts on “i’ve been nominated for the liebster award!

  1. Jamie Alger says:

    Wow! This is wonderful! Thanks so much for doing this post! I love your outlook on life, that purpose chart!, your quote, you’re desire to help others know they belong- that’s so beautiful- what a life-changing role to play. What a fun post with all the pics and links- yep you’ve got a knack for this ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

